Special Guest: Meet the Author: CHANSE LOWELL

I am so happy today to introduce our lovely special guest, Author Chanse Lowell. Chanse Lowell writes brilliant stories on romance, historical romance, BDSM and sic-fiction. I had a wonderful opportunity reading her upcoming latest, Knots!!!

Everyone, mark your diary dates to grab it! Knots is actually mind-blowing! I freaking loved every moment. I was wicked glued page to page! Such a page turner that book was!

Hence, jot it down in your diary, OCTOBER 18th, 2013!!

Now, let’s not waste a minute further, meet your talented author:

About the Author:

Chanse grew up in the desert southwest and still lives there with her husband, children, and pet cactus. She’s addicted to three things: reading erotica, writing erotica and sandwiches with a side of erotica to aid with digestion. She grew up watching programs with science fiction and historical fiction themes, and is determined she can combine her three favorite genres, creating a new breed of novel with scifi, historical and smut sandwiched in the middle.

The last thing she ever thought she’d do was pursue her dream to be a writer since her family tends to keep her busy. When she was introduced to fan fiction, she realized she wanted to see more science fiction and historical fiction to fill in the gap with lots of naughtiness thrown in, of course. Her true passion is creating her own worlds from scratch, letting her imagination go and take her to another place.

She has Knots, a contemporary BDSM that shows the softer, tender side of a Dom/sub relationship. Having recently entered the lifestyle and discovering she’s a submissive herself has opened her eyes to how few stories there are exploring the softer side of the lifestyle. She enjoys chatting online with others with similar kinky interests and has advisers in the lifestyle that help make sure her stories remain true and don’t veer off into outer space. Although aliens probably enjoy kink, too, since they like to dress in rubber fetish-wear while traveling. At least that’s her argument for why her new genre she’s created is valid.

And, here is my interview with lovely Chanse Lowell ❤

1. Congratulations on your upcoming release for Knots. What sparked the idea for this series?

Thank you so much. You know, I just knew someone would ask me this sooner or later, and I’ve kind of been dreading it since I know I’m gonna sound like the written equivalent of that “deer in headlights” phenomenon we all experience now and again. Most of the time I can tell someone exactly how I came up with the idea for a story. This one sort of just came to me one day out of the blue, so I sat down and wrote out the first 8 chapters in 2 days, then I kind of got stuck and let it sit for a while. I was too focused on Jeanie, and so the story lulled. Once I put the focus on Mark and how he helped her, then it flowed again. So, the answer is, I don’t know. It’s one of those stories that just hit me with no explanation at all.

 2.  What is your writing routine?

If I’m not in heavy edits or in research or reading mode, my writing routine is I clean my house first—can’t write with a messy home. Then I light my favorite incense (very picky about this as well), plug in my earbuds and turn on whatever music puts me in the mood for the genre I’m currently writing. I have a spot I sit in everyday to write. It’s a recliner on my sofa, and I have a particular cushion behind my back so I’m comfortable. Then I write until I have to stop. Oh, yes, and I always have my favorite cup nearby filled with water. I also have a nice view of my front yard from my spot, so that’s always inspiring.

3. How did you get started writing?

I actually started writing fan fiction about 3 years ago because I was dealing with some traumatic experiences in my life. And although I was in therapy at the time, it didn’t seem enough. I had nowhere to put the excess emotions, so I started writing just to get rid of those pent up feelings. It worked very well, and I was hooked. Haven’t stopped since.

4.  Mark is now one of my favourite book boyfriends. So, who or which book boy are you most smitten with?

Well, first of all, thank you! I love hearing that. And to answer your question—it’s probably a tie between Gideon from the Crossfire series by Sylvia Day (I wanna be her and have her career when I grow up) and Kallypso Master’s Dom—Adam. They are both so different and speak to me for various reasons but I’ve read those books over and over. My close third behind them is Max from Beautiful Stranger. He’s a hot Brit, so it simply can’t be helped. I’ve got a thing for those men across the ocean.

5.  The areas of Dominant and submissive in this book were beautifully and well written. Do you have any personal experiences writing this book?

Not in the way you might think. I came to the recent discovery I’m a submissive woman a little less than a year ago. During that time I started searching for more information and met various individuals in the BDSM lifestyle that helped me out. I still talk to these people and they’ve become great friends along with my mentors. My partner isn’t really interested in being in the lifestyle, but he’s adventurous enough that if I ask him to spank me or tie my wrists up, he will. It’s just really hard for me to ask for it. I’m very much Jeanie in a lot of ways. All her reactions are what I imagine myself doing if I ever met a Dom face-to-face and found myself available to them.

6. If you were making a movie, who would you cast as the characters? Mark and Jeanie?

 If David Gandy could act, hands down, he’d be Mark. I pictured him as Mark from the moment I saw that model. And for Jeanie, I pictured a French model that most people have never heard of. Her name is Megan Farquhar. Here are some pictures from my blog if anyone wants to see how I envisioned them: http://chanselowell.blogspot.com/p/knots.html

If I was going off people that can act, that would be tough. I’d probably go with Michael Fassbender (with darkened hair of course) to play Mark, and maybe Keira Knightly. Jeanie would be harder to cast for me because I feel like I’m her a lot of the time.

 7.  How do you prepare to write a sex scene?

I know you didn’t mean to make me laugh, but I really, truly did when I read this one—not because of the question per se, but because of my silly reaction. I don’t do anything at all to prepare to write a sex scene. I guess I’m boring that way. I’m almost always in the mood to write one, so there’s nothing special to it for me. It’s harder for me to not write one. Lol! Sex scenes are usually the easiest scenes for me to create. I just think about how I wanna lick this man head to toe, and it comes to me. The best part about writing sex scenes are there really aren’t any limits. It’s all up to my imagination. If I can imagine it, it’s usually written down. I actually asked the Dom/sub couple that are my advisors if they’d ever licked the crop before using it, and they said, “Uh, no…” I had to giggle. Why not lick it? Sounded fun to me, and the noise would probably be amplified, making it that much more thrilling.

 8.  What is your absolute favourite book?

Hmm… Depends what genre you’re talking about since I write in a few of them.

If I’m going with historical erotica, right now my favorite, hands down, is Disciplining the Duchess.

If I’m going with scifi, I’d have to say A Brave New World.

Classics would be Wuthering Heights.

Romance would be Scarlett, the sequel to Gone with the Wind.

And right now, my favorite BDSM story would probably be Nobody’s Hero, by Kallypso Masters. I’ve read it entirely too many times. I suppose if I had to choose just one, that would be it. Master Adam is the Master I would choose to collar me—without question.

 9.  Favourite movie?

Braveheart, although the sex scene in it with his wife at the beginning was a little overly dramatic.

 10. Favourite music?

It varies, but right now I’ve been hooked to the soundtrack for the movie the Great Gatsby, even though I really didn’t like that movie all that much. Also been listening to Kings of Leon new album. Love them.

11.  Besides writing, how do you unwind yourself?

Reading. If I could just read all day, that’s what I’d do. I also love to garden, hike and beat myself silly at the gym. It’s cliché, but I also adore going to the movies.

12. Tea or coffee?

Neither. I don’t drink either of them. I’d say smoothies. Believe it or not, McDonald’s has some pretty good ones. I really like their pomegranate blueberry, but when I’m being cheap, I make my own. I can whip up a mean raspberry smoothie like you wouldn’t believe.

 13. Do you have a favourite treat?

Chocolate. Always chocolate. There’s this Belgium chocolate at Trader Joe’s that’s to die for. I get a big brick of it, and my family tears through it. If I’m rewarding myself for finishing a novel, sometimes I’ll eat a Dove ice cream bar. Those are so naughty, they’re nice.

14. What books have influenced your life most?

Definitely the BDSM novels I’ve read over the last 2 years. Without them, I wouldn’t have figured out who I am. I never made sense to anyone—not even to me until I figured out through these books calling to me that I was a submissive woman. Tiffany Reisz’s novel The Siren from the Original Sinners series was probably the first book that really pushed me toward the lifestyle. It made me squirm inside and wonder why I was having such strong reactions to Soren.

 15. What’s next for you?

I’ve got one book coming out per month clear through ‘til May. My next novel to be released in November is called SHROAG 50. It’s a scifi series with some historical fiction and BDSM thrown in. It’s my culmination of all my favorite genres and favorite characters. This one has Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn—another unhealthy obsession of mine. Imagine a Dom stepping in and creating havoc with her heart—yeah, it’s not the typical BDSM story, that’s for certain.

The ARCs will be sent out very soon. Here’s the summary:

Symptoms of time travel are never fun—ask Guy Moore. He just returned, and now he’s being thrown back in time. His assignment? To impregnate Anne Boleyn. As an agent of SHROAG, he’s completed more assignments than any other agent and is ready to retire. Too bad Elizabeth I needs to be born to preserve history, and his DNA is the only one to do it. How will Guy seduce Anne, the woman who kept Henry VIII at arm’s length for over seven years? And how will he keep from falling for her in his efforts?

After that in December I’ll be releasing See Rick Run, a contemporary BDSM with some cyber domination in it and also Pearl on Cherry, a historical erotica in 1907 New York. He’s a rudimentary Dom and has a penchant for tying his girl to his tree in the garden and then doing all sorts of wicked things to her. It’s a lot of fun. Whipping table included…

Then in January, I’ll be releasing my post-apocalyptic erotica, Book of Asa. In February the sequel to Slick as Ides, titled Catching Vapor. In March is my scifi erotica, Scrapping Tin and in April is SHROAG 51, the sequel to SHROAG 50.

After that I think I’ll try my hand at just catching my breath for a little while. I’ll probably take a break over the summer and let the creative juices marinate for a while.

16. What are you working on now?

I’m finishing up Pearl on Cherry, but I really can’t wait to get back to See Rick Run. I’ve been waiting a long time to write a Dom/sub internet relationship. It should prove very challenging as well since there aren’t a lot of books out there with this type of storyline.

17. Writing cave, office, coffee shop, garden, what do you find to be most ideal place to write?

On my couch with my netbook in my living room. It’s where I’ve written every single story without fail. If my kids are being really obnoxious and loud when they’re home, then I use the scoop for my Esse (my favorite sex furniture ever) behind my back, prop it against the wall, and write while relaxing on my bed, locked away in my bedroom. My netbook goes with my everywhere. I’ve even been known to write a little bit while I’m cooking dinner.

 18. Is there anything that you would like to say to readers and fans?

Only that I’m so thrilled that readers are willing to take a chance and read my stories. I tend to write off-beat plots with very flawed characters, and I like to mix it up. It’s always nice to find a reader that connects to my unusual voice and enjoy it—and for that—I say thank you! I’m always willing to talk to my readers, give them free ARCs if they’re willing to read and review, and I especially enjoy telling them how much they mean to me.

Here’s how they can reach me:

Website: http://chanselowell.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/chanse.lowell.1

Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/ChanseLowellWrites

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ChanseLowell

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/ChanseLowell

Amazon’s author page: http://amazon.com/author/chanselowell

Mayhem Erotica page: http://www.mayhemerotica.com/

Email: chanselowell@hotmail.com

I would like thank again for this wicked interview and fans, don’t forget to grab KNOTS!!! Read my 5 BRILLIANT ADORABLE DOM & SUB STARS  for Knots below! On thing for sure, looking at Chanse’s list of upcming books to be released, I am doing little happy dance here!

Purchase Your Copy:

Sleeves

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sleeves-ebook/dp/B00EKLM6VG/ref=la_B00EKSG0T8_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1381573980&sr=1-1

Blurb:

Kel isn’t at all the animal locked in a cage that he appears to be. Secrets keep him there, hidden from those who hunt him. But what does a man do when he needs physical contact to survive, but can’t stand the burning pain that comes with another’s touch? He’s found a way to get a small fraction of his needs met at the nightclub, Sleeves. What happens when he lets in an unknown woman with a healing hand? Casey can see past the vulgar mouth to the affection-starved man hiding inside. When she does, all hell breaks loose, and the past finds him. Will he be able to avoid the agency, or will they add Casey to their twisted experiments? She entered the cage with him, and now it seems there’s no way out.

WARNING: crude language, anal sex and intended only for a mature audience 18+ due to graphic love scenes.

Slick as Ides

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Slick-as-Ides-ebook/dp/B00FABXJZC/ref=la_B00EKSG0T8_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1381576399&sr=1-2

Blurb:

What happens when a germophobe, elusive computer hacking genius has to stop to fuel up her car and it’s stolen right from under her nose by a handsome vagrant?

Revenge of course.

Only he’s no vagrant. He’s a computer hacking genius, too, and her competition.

Curses along with inhibitions—fly out the window and through the phone when he calls repeatedly to harasses her. Who will win the upper-hand, if there is such a thing, between these two stubborn, obnoxious people?

Warnings: Includes graphic love scenes, crude language, and dubious consent.

Related articles

One thought on “Special Guest: Meet the Author: CHANSE LOWELL

  1. Pingback: COVER REVEAL : Seducing Anne: A SHROAG Novel by Chanse Lowell | Reading My Escape

Leave a Reply

