MEET THE AUTHOR: J.M. Darhower

I am so happy today to introduce our author, J.M. Darhower of Sempre and Sempre Redemption, the creator my darling Carmine!

Untitled

 

JM Darhower is the author of the New Adult Sempre series (Sempre & Sempre: Redemption), andthe paranormal romance novella, Extinguish. She lives in a tiny town in the Carolinas with her family, where she churns out more words than will ever see the light of day. She has a deep passion for politics and human rights, and when she isn’t writing she’s usually ranting about those things. Chronic crimper with a vulgar mouth, she admits to having a Twitter addiction.  Contact her: contact@JMDarhower.com

Blog

Now, let’s go and meet J.M.Darhower. My interview below:

1. Congratulations on your upcoming release Sempre Redemption. Such a beautiful cover that was. What sparkled the idea for this series?

Thank you!! The art department at S&S is absolutely amazing. My interest in the subject of human trafficking was the starting point of it all. The plotline just sort of spiraled and built over time from there. I wanted to explore the concept of love and freedom, and these invisible people that live in our society. I’ve always been fascinated by organized crime so it just seemed natural to pair the subjects.

2. What is your writing routine? How did you get started writing?

I try to write every day, but usually it ends up being 4-5 times a week. I WC with a writer friend of mine named Sarah (WCs are word count sprints… we check in every hour and share what we’ve written). Outside of that, I kind of write anywhere, whenever inspiration strikes. I’m notorious for writing on my phone everywhere (waiting rooms, drive thrus, in bed when I’m supposed to be sleeping).

I’ve been writing since I was young but kept most of it to myself. I wrote a Greek mythology hip-hop play in seventh grade. The first time I shared anything really was at 14. I wrote a crossover NSYNC/Tales from the Crypt horror story that won a contest. Been writing my ass off ever since.

3. If you were making a movie, who would you cast as the characters? Haven? Carmine?

I don’t like to really say who I personally see. I like people envisioning who they want in the roles (I LOVE seeing people ‘cast’ it with their preferences). But I think it’s pretty well-known by now that actor Raoul Bova will forever be my Corrado. He’s always who I envisioned  while writing.

4. What is your absolute favourite book?

Ahhhhh how can I pick just one?! I’ll have to go with The Secret Garden or Memoirs of a Geisha if I’m forced to choose. I just love way too many books.

5. Do you have any book boyfriend that you are smitten too? I have such a long list 🙂

Me, too. Where do I start?! Adrian Ivashkov from Vampire Academy. Tobias (Four) from Divergent. Edward Cullen from Twilight. Warner from Shatter Me. Gus from The Fault in Our Stars. Can I have book girlfriends, too? Because I’m all about some Rose Hathaway from Vampire Academy.

Oh, and Søren and Kingsley from Original Sinners are my book everythings. They’d not like being called “boyfriends”.

6. Favourite movie?

Godfather. Star Wars (Yes, I am one of *those* people who love the new ones). American Beauty. Menace II Society.

7. Favourite music?

I love most music. My iTunes is loaded with everything from Tupac to One Direction to Frank Sinatra to Kings of Leon to Beethoven.

8. Favourite actor?

Johnny Depp, probably. He amazes me with his talent and versatility.

9. Besides writing, how do you unwind yourself?

I watch mindless TV. Reality shows are sort of a guilty pleasure of mine. I also watch General Hospital every day and have my entire life. That’s my one hour a day of ‘me’ time.

10. Tea or coffee?

Iced coffee. The only tea I like is southern sweet tea.

11. Do you have a favourite treat?

I’m a chocolate junkie.

12. What’s next for you? What are you working on now?

I’m working on a new series now, already have the first book written (and the sequel now officially started), but it’s sort of on hold until after I get the Sempre series all out. Gotta focus on one series at a time. I’m excited about this new one, though. I think people will love it.

13. Writing cave, office, coffee shop, garden, what do you find to be most ideal place to write?

I can write anywhere. Seriously. Just as long as I have music playing. I need music to write (the louder, the better).

14. Is there anything that you would like to say to readers and fans?

Just that I’m so eternally grateful that out of all the books in the world, all the stories that have been written, they took a chance on mine. I truly have the best readers, so passionate and caring. Never let anyone burn out your light. Keep on rocking, hummingbirds.

15. Any special insights on Sempre Redemption? I absolutely love Carmine ❤

Thank you!!! Uhhhhhh, let’s see… Redemption’s title is very fitting, I think, when it comes to all the characters. In Sempre it was mostly about Carmine and Haven’s growth and acceptance, about striving toward freedom… whereas Redemption finds them realizing that freedom isn’t as exactly what they thought it would be, and it’s more about making the best of what you’ve got. People will have to sacrifice. I think it’s a great conclusion, fitting for everyone involved. The epilogue is one of my favorite things I’ve written 🙂

 

Untitled2

 

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sempre-J-M-Darhower-ebook/dp/B00BW5VH2W/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1387626365&sr=8-3&keywords=sempre

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sempre-Redemption-J-M-Darhower-ebook/dp/B00EMC5KM0/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Extinguish-J-M-Darhower/dp/1484162226/ref=la_B00D5ZVF0Q_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1387626413&sr=1-3

2 thoughts on “MEET THE AUTHOR: J.M. Darhower

  1. Really enjoyed this interview! Thanks for sharing more of yourself with us, JM!

    I knew JM watched GH, but I didn’t realize it was every day!
    kitt
    Fics2Flicks.com

Leave a Reply

